The Society of Labor Economists

Annual Meetings
Executive Board

Journal of Labor Economics


Jacob Mincer Award



On October 1, 2003, the SOLE membership voted 128-15 to ratify the following amendment to the Bylaws:

3. The Career Achievement Award for Lifetime Contributions to the Field of Labor Economics

To acknowledge a lifetime of contributions to the field of labor economics. There will be two (2) awards per year for the first five (5) years. The issue of numbers of awards and their frequency will be visited by the SOLE Executive Board between the fourth and fifth years of this award.

Election of recipients for the Career award is by majority vote of the Electoral Board. The Electoral Board consists of all members of SOLE’s Executive Board and all members of the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee shall present not more than two nominees. A nomination requires that a quorum of the Nominating Committee participate in the selection and election requires a quorum of the Executive Committee and a quorum of the Nominating Committee. A quorum is a simple majority.

The Nominating Committee consists of six (6) regular members, a chair, and the SOLE president as a non-voting member. The chair is appointed by the SOLE president and serves one (1) year only. Terms of regular members are three (3) years. Each year, the SOLE president appoints two (2) new regular members who will replace two (2) who are rotating off the committee.

Upon enactment of this Amendment, the SOLE president will appoint two (2) regular members to three- (3-) year terms and the immediate past president will appoint two(2) regular members to two- (2-) year terms. The Executive Board will appoint two (2) more to one- (1-) year terms.

In 2009, the Executive Board revisited the question of the number and frequency of the awards (in accordance with the first paragraph of the Bylaws above) and decided that thenceforth one award would be granted every other year, in odd-numbered years, to a single recipient.


The inaugural awards went to Jacob Mincer and Gary S. Becker on April 30, 2004. The award will henceforth be known as the Mincer Award.

2004 Nominating Committee: Larry Katz (chair), John Bound, Janet Currie, Hank Farber, Audrey Light, Steve Rivkin, Robert Willis, Finis Welch (ex-officio).

2004 Executive Board: Orley Ashenfelter, Francine D. Blau, Derek Neal, John Pencavel, Finis Welch.



2005 Awards
2006 Awards
2007 Awards
2008 Awards
2009 Awards
2011 Award
2013 Award
2015 Award