Edward Lazear Prize

The Lazear Prize, named for SOLE founder Edward Lazear, will recognize those who have displayed excellence in research, provided exemplary service to the field, and contributed to civil society through government service or a public policy setting. 

Dr. Lazear made significant contributions to the field of personnel economics and has authored key papers about many other areas of labor economics.  He was the founding Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Labor Economics and founded the Society of Labor Economists in 1995.  Further, Dr. Lazear made contributions to society through his service as Chair of the President’s Council on Economic Advisers from 2006-2009 and as an advisor to the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis. 

The recipient will be selected by a committee appointed by the President of SOLE.  The prize will be awarded biennially beginning in 2022.

2022 - John M. Abowd